Wednesday, October 24, 2007

Mika- Life in catoon motion (album review) 10/10

I can honestly call this album my favorite of all time.
I think the word that describes it best is epic.
The album starts out with Mika's hit single Grace Kelly, and the as you listen further into the album you get the feeling your in a way listening to a movie. It may sound strange, but like how a movie makes you feel many different things while watching it, Mika manages to do the same.
This album has it all from Crazy fun songs to sad depressing ones.
Mika's voice is definately a gift from God.
This being his debut album, expect much more as he musically matures.
Comparisons have already been made to Queen's late lead singer Freddie Mercury.
Great Great album
To sum all it up I would call it , epic, moving, compelling, fun, funky, crazy and innovative.
I dont recommend any particular songs because i love them all, but if I were to choose my favorite it would be "Relax, take it easy" but the others come in close behind.

heres a track list
  1. "Grace Kelly" – 3:07
  2. "Lollipop" 3:03
  3. "My Interpretation" – 3:35
  4. "Love Today" – 3:55
  5. "Relax, Take It Easy" – 3:44
  6. "Ring Ring" - 3:35 (the monologue before "Any Other World" is placed here after "Ring Ring")
  7. "Any Other World" – 4:19
  8. "Billy Brown" – 3:14
  9. "Big Girl (You Are Beautiful)" – 4:08
  10. "Stuck in the Middle" – 4:08
  11. "Erase" (Mika, Jodi Marr, Desmond Child) - 3:38
  12. "Happy Ending" – 4:35 / 10:21 (includes hidden track "Over My Shoulder" – 4:45)
*note: some of the tracks above are not in the standard edition shipped to Oman. The songs listed that are not included in the album are:
"Ring Ring" - 3:35 (the monologue before "Any Other World" is placed here after "Ring Ring")
"Erase" (Mika, Jodi Marr, Desmond Child) - 3:38